Providence Sexual assault Charges Attorney

Serving Providence RI Charged With Sexual assault

  • 24 hour service
  • Over 50 years of combined defense experience
  • Affordable rates and payment plans
  • Call us 800-270-8184 / email

Providence Rhode Island Sexual assault is a forced sexual intercourse through physical and/or psychological intimidation. There are different types of Providence sexual assault such as date sexual assault, statutory sexual assault, and spousal sexual assault.  Providence Date sexual assault is a forced sex act between two people whom know one another during a social engagement such as a date or going to dinner.  Even though the two people know one another, if a sex act was coerced, it is considered sexual assault.  Providence Statutory sexual assault is a sex act between an adult and a minor under the legal age of 18.  Even if the minor consents to the sex act, it is still considered statutory sexual assault, because of the age limit.  Spousal sexual assault is a forced sex act between a husband and wife.  If a husband or wife does not consent to a sex act, and the sex act is forced, it is considered sexual assault.   

Providence RI Sexual assault Conviction Punishments Sexual assault is a severe Providence sex crime.  If a person is convicted of sexual assault, he or she faces a variety of punishments such as:

  1. Imprisonment for sexual assault
  2. Court ordered rehabilitation for sexual assault
  3. Monetary fines for Providence Rhode Island sexual assault
  4. Loss of the right to vote for sexual assault
  5. Loss of the right to own a deadly weapon if convicted of Providence sexual assault
  6. Providence Probation requirements for sexual assault convictions

Punishments can be superior if the offender committed statutory sexual assault, has prior Providence criminal convictions, is on probation, or if there are aggravating circumstances.   

People who are convicted of sexual assault must list their name on the Sex Offender Registry.  According to Sex Offender Registration Act, sex offenders are categorized by risk of re-offense.  The court decides if the convicted offender is (low risk),  (moderate risk), or (high risk).  The court also categorizes each convicted sex offender as a sexual predator, sexually violent offender, or predicate sex offender.  If a person’s name is on the Sex Offender Registry, they may have limited employment and housing options, as future landlords and employers look negatively upon Providence sex crime convictions.

Wise Laws affiliated Providence RI sexual assault lawyers understand that if you have been charged with Rhode Island sexual assault, it is important that you seek the representation of a professional sex crimes attorney.  An experienced Providence sexual assault lawyer can investigate your case, interview key witnesses, challenge evidence presented against you, and defend your legal rights.

Wise Laws Providence lawyers have represented various clients throughout Providence during their sexual assault cases.  Our attorneys know that early preparation and investigation can help identify the facts surrounding your case.  With our expert Providence legal knowledge, we can notify you of your options, negotiate charges with Providence prosecutors, develop appropriate motions to suppress evidence, and build a strong defense on your behalf.  At the offices of Wise Laws, we know how sensitive Providence sexual assault charges can be for our clients and their families. 

If you have been charged with sexual assault in Providence, contact Wise Laws immediately at 800-270-8184.  Our reputable Providence attorneys can discuss your case with you and make this time less difficult.